Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art cover
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $18.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
used Add to Cart $1.11
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $12.14
You save: 33%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description
Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Nettextstore

Location: Lincoln, NE
Good
Shipping Icon
Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24
[...]
$1.11
Big Hearted Books

Location: Sharon, MA
Good
Shipping Icon
This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are
[...]
$1.11
Clean Earth Books

Location: Atlanta, GA
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
Support Your Planet. Buy CLEAN EARTH BOOKS. Shipping orders swiftly since
[...]
$1.11
Goodwill BookWorks

Location: Austin, TX
Acceptable
9780399142789 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or
[...]
$1.11
Goodwill Industries

Location: Miami, FL
Good
All of our books are in excellent shape! May contain some wear or contain minimal highlighting-writing.
$1.18
Owls Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Very Good
Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or
[...]
$1.67
Hippo Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Good
Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited
[...]
$1.67
Hawking Books

Location: Upland, CA
Good
0140168249 Good Condition. Has some writing/highlighting. Tear on cover. Five star seller-Buy with confidence!
$4.48
MannBooks

Location: Woodbine, MD
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p. Audience: General/trade.
$4.50
bluevelvetelk

Location: Waite Park, MN
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Satisfaction guaranteed. Contains writing and/or highlighting. Quick shipping.
$5.43
Half Price Books Inc

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.83
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$7.18
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$7.86
text book recycle

Location: malone, NY
Acceptable
We ship everyday and offer PRIORITY SHIPPING.
$7.86
Paws, Not Claws! Associates

Location: Ithaca, NY
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Pb vg clean text.
$7.87
The Book Cellar

Location: Nashua, NH
Very Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Great used condition. A portion of your purchase of this book will
[...]
$8.15
readmybooks

Location: Artesia, CA
Ask seller a question
Acceptable
PLEASE NOTE: Acceptable-It may contain highlighting/markings throughout,
[...]
$8.45
Symposium Books - Westminster

Location: Providence, RI
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Some books may have remainder mark.
$8.97
Half Price Books Inc

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.98
readmybooks

Location: Artesia, CA
Ask seller a question
Good
PLEASE NOTE: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or
[...]
$9.54