Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • List Price: $25.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publish date: 11/01/1998
  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033
used Add to Cart $1.66
You save: 93%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $4.48
You save: 82%
Marketplace Item
Description: Father India is composed of several mini biographies of 20th-century Westerners whose lives and thought were radically transformed by their experience of India. As these major figures of the 20th century attempted to comprehend and perfect Western civilization through their visits to India, their unconscious assumptions about social life in their own cultures were turned upside down, returning to the modern West a changed understanding of itself. Following in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Edmund Wilson, Father India is an intriguing work of intellectual and cultural history, remarkable for its accessibility and popular appeal.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Better World Books West
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Condition: Very Good
Ships from Reno, NV. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Price:
$1.66
Comments:
Ships from Reno, NV. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Like New
Unread copy in near perfect condition.
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
Unread copy in near perfect condition.
Seller: Hippo Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.92
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: R. Peirson
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Condition: New
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Archer's Used & Rare Books
Location: Kent, OH
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Price:
$4.72
Comments:
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Seller: Fred Lowrance Books
Location: Crown Point, IN
Condition: Very Good
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" Tan boards with white spine. Pictorial dustjacket with sticker residue on front panel. Appendix, bibliography, index, 324 pp. Clean tight copy.
Price:
$5.06
Comments:
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" Tan boards with white spine. Pictorial dustjacket with sticker residue on front panel. Appendix, bibliography, index, 324 pp. Clean tight copy.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Price:
$5.13
Comments:
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Price:
$5.80
Comments:
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Seller: Dunaway Books
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$6.61
Comments:
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Symposium Books - Westminster
Location: Providence, RI
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0060173033 Some books may have remainder mark.
Price:
$11.22
Comments:
0060173033 Some books may have remainder mark.
Seller: Pomfret Street Books
Location: Carlisle, PA
Condition: Like New
Binding tight, pages clean.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Binding tight, pages clean.
Seller: Orca Books
Location: Olympia, WA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Minor wear. Text is clean.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Minor wear. Text is clean.
Seller: George Lyon
Location: Alexandria, VA
Condition: Like New
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Price:
$16.82
Comments:
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Seller: BookHouse On-Line
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Seller: Eastburn Books
Location: Albany, OR
Condition: Good
Good+ hardcover in VG jacket. SIGNED by author on half title page w/No
[...]
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
Good+ hardcover in VG jacket. SIGNED by author on half title page w/No
[...]
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).