Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
German Realists in the Nineteenth Century cover
  • ISBN: 9780262121712
  • ISBN10: 0262121719

German Realists in the Nineteenth Century

by Lukacs, Georg

  • List Price: $44.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: MIT Press
  • Publish date: 01/01/2006
used Add to Cart $22.00
You save: 50%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $84.37
Marketplace Item
Description: Georg Lukacs was one of the most controversial Marxist philosophers of the twentieth century. In this book, however, he appears in another guise: as a literary historian in the tradition of Sainte-Beuve and Belinsky, offering an advanced introduction to one of the richest periods of European literature.

These previously untranslated essays -- on Heinrich von Kleist, Joseph Eichendorff, Georg Buchner, Heinrich Heine, Gottfried Keller, Wilhelm Raabe, and Theodor Fontane -- were written between 1936 and 1950. They illuminate Lukacs's enduring love of German literature and his faith in the humanist tradition. In all of them, moreover, he can be seen actively intervening in the cultural debates of the time -- on the role of literature, on the literary tradition in society, and on the relationship between literature and politics.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
secondsale
Location: Montgomery, IL Ask seller a question
Good
Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
$22.00
edconroybooks.com
Location: Troy, NY
Like New
Shipping Icon
M.I.T. Press, Cambridge, MA, 1993. 1st Ed(AsSuch), Fine/Fine, Hard Cover,
[...]
$23.62
GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
Location: Aurora, IL
Good
Shipping Icon
0262121719 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
$24.75
Orenart Books
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
New
Shipping Icon
Sewn binding. Cloth over boards. Contains: Illustrations. Audience: General/trade.
$84.37
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).