Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
German Realists in the Nineteenth Century cover
  • ISBN: 9780262121712
  • ISBN10: 0262121719

German Realists in the Nineteenth Century

by Lukacs, Georg

  • List Price: $44.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: MIT Press
  • Publish date: 01/01/2006
used Add to Cart $23.62
You save: 46%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $84.37
Marketplace Item
Description
Georg Lukacs was one of the most controversial Marxist philosophers of the twentieth century. In this book, however, he appears in another guise: as a literary historian in the tradition of Sainte-Beuve and Belinsky, offering an advanced introduction to one of the richest periods of European literature.

These previously untranslated essays -- on Heinrich von Kleist, Joseph Eichendorff, Georg Buchner, Heinrich Heine, Gottfried Keller, Wilhelm Raabe, and Theodor Fontane -- were written between 1936 and 1950. They illuminate Lukacs's enduring love of German literature and his faith in the humanist tradition. In all of them, moreover, he can be seen actively intervening in the cultural debates of the time -- on the role of literature, on the literary tradition in society, and on the relationship between literature and politics.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
edconroybooks.com

Location: Troy, NY
Like New
Shipping Icon
M.I.T. Press, Cambridge, MA, 1993. 1st Ed(AsSuch), Fine/Fine, Hard Cover,
[...]
$23.62
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$35.22
Orenart Books

Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
New
Shipping Icon
Sewn binding. Cloth over boards. Contains: Illustrations. Audience: General/trade.
$84.37