Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
Restless Nation Starting over in America cover
  • ISBN: 9780226394787
  • ISBN10: 0226394786

Restless Nation Starting over in America

by James M. Jasper

  • List Price: $28.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Univ of Chicago Pr
  • Publish date: 11/01/2000
used Add to Cart $1.67
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $3.92
You save: 86%
Marketplace Item
Description
What is it that makes Americans so American? It can't be money: although the United States is the most productive economy in the world, it also has the highest poverty rates. It can't really be faith, either: Americans are the most religious people in the advanced industrial world, but they have the oldest official separation of church and state. Skepticism? Americans are highly suspicious of government, but at the same time they have a naive belief in markets. Is there such a thing as an American character amidst these, and other, paradoxes?

In Restless Nation, James Jasper argues that this elusive national character can be found in Americans' faith in moving. Americans believe that by relocating, they can make themselves into new people -- make more money, get in touch with their inner selves, find spiritual truth, recover their physical health. American culture recommends flight from what you dislike and makes it easy to believe a better life is just around the corner, literally. It is this faith that has brought sixty million immigrants to the shores of the United States. And it is this faith that has put their descendants on the road for hundreds of years. Even today, Americans continue to move far more often -- about every five years -- than anyone else.

Jasper has fashioned a wonderful portrait of this essential American character using the lives of its famous and not-so-famous nomads, facts and statistics, rich historical details, and illustrations that tell their own story. In the tradition of The Lonely Crowd and Habits of the Heart, Restless Nation explores what Americans are really like and how they came to believe so firmly in the "fresh start".

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Owls Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Very Good
Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or
[...]
$1.67
Midtown Scholar Bookstore

Location: Harrisburg, PA
Very Good
0226394786 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear to the dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge-Nice!
$3.37
Midtown Scholar Bookstore

Location: Harrisburg, PA
Good
0226394786 Bumped and creased book with tears to the extremities, but not affecting the text block and a remainder mark to one edge-Good.
$3.37
ab bookco

Location: San Antonio, TX
New
Shipping Icon
HARDCOVER, STORE DISPLAY ITEM, UNREAD NEW, NICE, CLEAN & COMPLETE PAGES & COVER.
$3.92
Powell's Books Chicago

Location: Chicago, IL
Very Good
2000. 1st Edition. Hardcover. Very Good.
$4.50
Powell's Books

Location: Portland, OR
Very Good
$5.57
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
HPB-Diamond

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$7.18
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$7.42
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$10.47
Argosy Book Store

Location: New York, NY
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Illus. 8vo, 1/2 tan cloth, d.w. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, (2000). Very good. Impact of moving or changing jobs on Americans.
$12.65
JB Books

Location: Garrison, ND
Like New
Shipping Icon
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. FIRST PRINTING of the First Edition. A unique and
[...]
$22.50
Mark Post Bookseller

Location: San Francisco, CA
Like New
Shipping Icon
"1" in number row. AS NEW IN DUST JACKET WITH ORIGINAL $25.00 PRICE.
$22.50
indoo.com

Location: Avenel, NJ
New
0226394786.
$33.85