Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Restless Nation Starting Over in America

by James M. Jasper

  • ISBN: 9780226394787
  • ISBN10: 0226394786

Restless Nation Starting Over in America

by James M. Jasper

  • List Price: $28.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Univ of Chicago Pr
  • Publish date: 11/01/2000
  • ISBN: 9780226394787
  • ISBN10: 0226394786
used Add to Cart $1.46
You save: 95%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $27.83
You save: 1%
Marketplace Item
Description: What is it that makes Americans so American? It can't be money: although the United States is the most productive economy in the world, it also has the highest poverty rates. It can't really be faith, either: Americans are the most religious people in the advanced industrial world, but they have the oldest official separation of church and state. Skepticism? Americans are highly suspicious of government, but at the same time they have a naive belief in markets. Is there such a thing as an American character amidst these, and other, paradoxes?

In Restless Nation, James Jasper argues that this elusive national character can be found in Americans' faith in moving. Americans believe that by relocating, they can make themselves into new people -- make more money, get in touch with their inner selves, find spiritual truth, recover their physical health. American culture recommends flight from what you dislike and makes it easy to believe a better life is just around the corner, literally. It is this faith that has brought sixty million immigrants to the shores of the United States. And it is this faith that has put their descendants on the road for hundreds of years. Even today, Americans continue to move far more often -- about every five years -- than anyone else.

Jasper has fashioned a wonderful portrait of this essential American character using the lives of its famous and not-so-famous nomads, facts and statistics, rich historical details, and illustrations that tell their own story. In the tradition of The Lonely Crowd and Habits of the Heart, Restless Nation explores what Americans are really like and how they came to believe so firmly in the "fresh start".

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Last Page Books-Columbus
Location: Columbus, OH
Condition: Good
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$1.46
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Very Good
0226394786 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear to the dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge-Nice!
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
0226394786 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear to the dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge-Nice!
Seller: Powell's Books Chicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Condition: Very Good
2000. 1st Edition. Hardcover. Very Good.
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
2000. 1st Edition. Hardcover. Very Good.
Seller: Powell's Books
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$6.46
Comments:
Seller: Argosy Book Store
Location: New York, NY
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Illus. 8vo, 1/2 tan cloth, d.w. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, (2000). Very good Impact of moving or changing jobs on Americans.
Price:
$12.65
Comments:
Illus. 8vo, 1/2 tan cloth, d.w. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, (2000). Very good Impact of moving or changing jobs on Americans.
Seller: Mark Post Bookseller
Location: San Francisco, CA
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
"1" in number row. AS NEW IN DUST JACKET WITH ORIGINAL $25.00 PRICE.
Price:
$22.50
Comments:
"1" in number row. AS NEW IN DUST JACKET WITH ORIGINAL $25.00 PRICE.
Seller: JB Books
Location: Garrison, ND
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. FIRST PRINTING of the First Edition. A unique and
[...]
Price:
$22.50
Comments:
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. FIRST PRINTING of the First Edition. A unique and
[...]
Seller: One Stop Shop Bookstore
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$23.61
Comments:
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$27.83
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: indoo.com
Location: Avenel, NJ
Condition: New
0226394786.
Price:
$33.96
Comments:
0226394786.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).