Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
The Culture of Lies Antipolitical Essays cover
  • ISBN: 9780271018478
  • ISBN10: 027101847X

The Culture of Lies Antipolitical Essays

by Dubravka Ugresic

  • List Price: $37.95
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Pennsylvania State Univ Pr
  • Publish date: 11/01/1998
used Add to Cart $24.23
You save: 36%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $67.50
Marketplace Item
Description
A funny and cynical collection of essays, observations, and sketches denouncing the perversions of political and cultural life in Croatia.

The Culture of Lies shows us the banality and brutality of nationalism and the way that nationalistic ideology permeates every pore of life. Dubravka Ugresic's ascerbic and penetrating essays cover everything from politics to daily routine, from public to private life. With a diverse and unusual perspective, she writes about memory, soap operas, the destruction of everyday life, kitsch, aggression against people's own "brothers", the conformity of intellectuals, propaganda and censorship, the strategies of human manipulation, and the walls of Europe, which she argues never really did fall.

First published in Holland, then in Germany and Croatia, The Culture of Lies has been enthusiastically received in Europe, earning Ugresic two prestigious awards: the Charles Veillon European Essay Prize in 1996 and the Dutch Culture of Resistance Prize in 1997. Shot through with sarcasm and satire, it is one of the most intelligent and lucid accounts of an appalling episode in history. In the tradition of Milan Kundera and Karl Kraus, The Culture of Lies is a gesture of intellectual resistance by a writer branded a "traitor" and a "witch" in Croatia.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
One Planet Books

Location: Columbia, MO
Good
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
$24.23
SurplusTextSeller

Location: Columbia, MO
Good
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
$27.32
bookrunners

Location: Chicago, IL
Ask seller a question
Good
Ships fast! All our items are exactly as described in the listing. Buy with
[...]
$37.05
Found Books

Location: AUSTIN, TX
Good
027101847X.
$56.25
Ables Bookstore

Location: chattanooga, TN
Good
Shipping Icon
$65.23
Book Panther

Location: Wellington, FL
New
027101847X New Condition.
$67.50