Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
  • ISBN: 9780253334879
  • ISBN10: 025333487X

The First Golden Age of the Viennese Symphony Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and Schubert (volume2)

by A. Peter Brown

  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Indiana Univ Pr
  • Publish date: 07/01/2002
used Add to Cart $72.45
You save: 3%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $75.90
FREE economy shipping!
Description: Though this massive tome may look quite formidable, it proves to be a remarkably smooth read for anyone who already knows much of the literature being addressed. Brown (Indiana Univ. School of Music) covers every symphony composed by the four giants of the First Viennese School, and from a wide variety of perspectives: historical context, structural architecture, nuances of orchestration, critical editions, public response, and reception. The result is a treasure trove of information, scholarly and thorough without being pedantic or boring. The reader most likely to derive maximum pleasure from the book will come armed with scores, recordings, and (of course) prior experience with the works in question. Such a reader will be delighted by the insights Brown provides. Though this is the second volume of a projected five-volume series on the history of the symphony, it is the first to appear in print. If the succeeding volumes are up to the level of this one, music lovers have a great treat in store. Definitely not for beginners. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division undergraduates and above.--E. Schwartz, Bowdoin College, 2003apr CHOICE
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Very Good
025333487X Crisp, clean, unread book with some shelfwear-NICE.
Location: Dallas, TX
Shipping Icon
Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).