Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
The Golden Rule cover
  • ISBN: 9780312192747
  • ISBN10: 0312192746

The Golden Rule

by Palmer, Elizabeth

  • List Price: $22.95
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
  • Publish date: 01/01/2003
used Add to Cart $1.11
You save: 95%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $16.32
You save: 29%
Marketplace Item
Description
Patience has always been the favored sister, cruising through school, marrying a successful banker, and producing perfect children, whom she duly sends to boarding school. Her bossiness and moral certainty make her insufferable, but she is blissfully oblivious. Dorian, on the other hand, is the intellectual in the family, separated and childless, and engaged in a secret affair with a feckless gossip columnist.

When Patience's husband deserts her for another woman, the tables are turned. Somehow, Dorian has become a glamorous, confident single woman, while Patience is deserted by her fellow committee members and so-called friends. Even as her glass house crumbles around her, she is determined to find another suitable mate and rebuild her life.

In the tradition of Scarlet Angel and Flowering Judas, this sharp, satirical novel by one of Britain's finest writers gives a pointed, irresistible jab to the hypocrisy of the "appearances are everything" crowd.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Better World Books West

Location: Mishawaka, IN
Good
Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may
[...]
$1.11
Kat Prints

Location: Fremont, CA
Good
Text clean, binding sound. Ex-library with usual markings.
$2.25
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$11.08
Simply Mail Books

Location: Halifax, VA
Very Good
0312192746. Hardback Comedy 1st. Ed. Ex-Library Near Fine/Near Fine; 45287.
$12.65
Books

Location: Phoenix, AZ
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Text clean, binding tight, edge wear, light wear on jacket, first edition, remainder mark on bottom of pages,
$15.17
Southern Maryland Books

Location: Waldorf, MD
New
Shipping Icon
$16.32
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$23.64