Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
The Modern Mind An Intellectual History of the 20th Century cover
  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • List Price: $40.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1
  • Publisher: Harpercollins
  • Publish date: 03/01/2001
used Add to Cart $8.75
You save: 78%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
new Add to Cart $31.97
You save: 20%
Marketplace Item
Description
From Freud to Babbitt, from Animal Farm to Sartre, from the Theory of Relativity and the Great Society to Counterculture and Kosovo, The Modern Mind is an extraordinary, provocative, and brilliantly reasoned examination of the ideas and individuals that have shaped the 20th-century intellectual tradition. Focusing on all the great and many lesser-known individuals, breakthroughs, and events of Western culture, Peter Watson explores the role of the United States in setting the century's agenda and emphasizes the effect science has played in intellectual history. Writing with authority and verve, Watson has produced a fluent, engaging, and intelligent look at the recent past -- an illuminating blueprint of modern thought and culture more than 10 years in the making. For readers of Jacques Barzun, Paul Johnson, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Paul Kennedy, The Modern Mind is the perfect historical companion.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Hippo Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Good
Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited
[...]
$1.67
Mini City Media

Location: Raleigh, NC
Very Good
Light wear. Light interior markings.
$2.23
Solr Books

Location: Skokie, IL
Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
$2.23
Mini City Media

Location: Raleigh, NC
Good
Moderate wear. Heavy interior markings. No dust-jacket.
$2.23
Half Price Books Inc

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.93
HPB-Movies

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$4.50
HPB-Sapphire

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
HPB-Emerald

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB

Location: Frederick, MD
Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
$5.86
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB

Location: Frederick, MD
Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Writing inside. Highlighting inside.
$5.86
WonderBook

Location: Frederick, MD
Ask seller a question
Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
$7.01
WonderBook

Location: Frederick, MD
Ask seller a question
Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Writing inside. Highlighting inside.
$7.01
Dunaway Books

Location: Saint Louis, MO
Good
Shipping Icon
$7.93
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$8.35
Half Price Books Inc

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.98
HPB-Diamond

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$11.23
Priceless Books

Location: Urbana, IL
Very Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
$13.50
Priceless Books

Location: Urbana, IL
Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
$16.87
M and N Media

Location: ACWORTH, GA
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0060194138 Please allow 4-14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business!
$19.80
One Stop Shop Bookstore

Location: Memphis, TN
Good
Shipping Icon
$22.17
One Stop Shop Bookstore

Location: Memphis, TN
Good
Shipping Icon
$25.37
Firecreek Books

Location: Germantown, TN
Good
$29.88
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$31.97
sequiturbooks

Location: Boonsboro, MD
Ask seller a question
New
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
$52.50