Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The War Beneath

by Johnston, Timothy S.

The War Beneath cover
  • ISBN: 9781771484718
  • ISBN10: 1771484713

The War Beneath

by Johnston, Timothy S.

  • List Price: $17.99
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: ChiZine Publications
  • Publish date: 11/20/2018
  • ISBN: 9781771484718
  • ISBN10: 1771484713
used Add to Cart $11.20
You save: 38%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $12.13
You save: 33%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
ebook Buy $12.50
Provided by Redshelf
License: lifetime
Description: Praise for The War Beneath " The War Beneath is a thrill ride from beginning to end, with several heart-stopping scenes that clearly illustrate the boundaries of underwater living and warfare. The technology is well researched and stretched to the limit as Johnston tests every boundary, throwing Mac into many seemingly possible situations. Sometimes I couldn''t turn the pages fast enough as I waited for Mac and his team to figure out how to live through their next quandary. . . . This novel is everything I''ve come to expect from Timothy S. Johnston and a promising start to a new series, and one I look forward to following." --Kelly Jensen, SF Crow''s Nest "Timothy S. Johnston has done it again. A master of taut, well-crafted stories, he raises the bar with The War Beneath . In a world of rising ocean levels, mankind has taken to creating underwater cities. Human nature does not change, however, and nations compete for supremacy under the waves. I have spent time aboard US submarines, and Johnston accurately recreates the feel of living under pressure, but with futuristic technology and robust characters in this attention-grabbing thriller. Johnston has his own voice, but if you like Clancy and le Carr with a hint of Forsyth thrown in, you''ll love The War Beneath ." --Colonel Jonathan P. Brazee, USMC (RET), 2017 Nebula Award & 2018 Dragon Award Finalist "It feels similar to something Lee Child might write, but also has hints of Andy Weir''s Artemis . . . if you''re here for thrills, the book will deliver." -- The Cambridge Geek "Johnston''s The War Beneath follows in the tradition of Tom Clancy and Larry Bond, except that all of the war machines are futuristic. If you like novels like The Hunt for Red October and Red Storm Rising , you will certainly enjoy The War Beneath . Lots of action, neat technology, and interesting characters pretty much sums it up." -- A-Thrill-A-Week "If you''re going to tackle The War Beneath by Timothy S. Johnston, then suspend any doubt you might have about where technology might take us, or what our cities might be like a century from now. Then sit back, start reading, and enjoy a deep sea dive into the future. . . . One very riveting, intelligent read!" -- Readers'' Favorite "This is a tense, gripping science fiction/thriller of which Tom Clancy might well be proud . . . I fully intended to read this novel slowly, being easily wearied these days, but once I started it I found it impossible to stop. So I read the entire 100,000+ word book in one day and was sorry when it ended. When I say it is gripping, that is the simple truth." --Ardath Mayhar Praise for The Void: ". . . engrossing and exciting . . . SF and mystery fans will be impressed with Johnston''s tightly written deep-space whodunit." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Praise for The Freezer: ". . . a combination of science fiction, thriller and horror . . . This exciting tale will keep readers rapt, desperate to find out what happens next." -- RT Book Reviews " The Freezer is a little bit of Asimov''s Caves of Steel , a little bit of Shelley''s Frankenstein , and a bit more of Carpenter''s The Thing . . . This is a great ride, and I heartily recommend it." -- Science Fiction Review ". . . masterfully crafted . . . there are plot twists, lies, misdirection to wade through, and secrets to be revealed in pursuit of the truth . . . Just when you think you have everything figured out, Johnston piles on more, and more, and more." -- Chanticleer Book Reviews Praise for The Furnace: ". . . a Crichtonesque thriller . . ." -- Kirkus ". . . this is your perfect read." -- Chanticleer Book Reviews ". . . intense . . ." -- The Bibliophilic Book Blog ". . . I was absolutely blown away by The Furnace . . ." -- Dreamworld Book Reviews ". . . definitely a page turner . . . suspense-filled . . ." -- Kaye Trout''s Book Reviews ". . . compelling . . ." -- Booklover Book Reviews "Johnston is an exemplary novelist." -- Dreamworld Book Reviews ". . . a gripping page-turner . . ." --Ramblings from this Chick
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$11.20
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Brinkullivan_Books
Location: Takoma Park, MD
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Unmarked. General light shelf wear. A very nice copy.
Price:
$11.41
Comments:
Unmarked. General light shelf wear. A very nice copy.
Seller: Magers and Quinn Booksellers
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Brand New.
Price:
$11.80
Comments:
Brand New.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).