Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art cover
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $18.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
used Add to Cart $10.12
You save: 44%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
new Add to Cart $12.14
You save: 33%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description
Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Nettextstore

Location: Lincoln, NE
Good
Shipping Icon
Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24
[...]
$2.18
Coas Books, Inc.

Location: Las Cruces, NM
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
Paperback. This is a used book. Potential defects may exist (folds, creases,
[...]
$2.18
Elistics

Location: vancouver, WA
Acceptable
USED We here at Elistics have a 100% satisfaction guarentee. Thank you for your business.
$2.23
Hawking Books

Location: Upland, CA
Good
0140168249 Good Condition. Has some writing/highlighting. Tear on cover. Five star seller-Buy with confidence!
$3.32
AwesomeBooksUSA

Location: Valley Cottage, NY
Very Good
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
$3.33
AwesomeBooksUSA

Location: Valley Cottage, NY
Good
Book in good or better condition. Dispatched same day from US or UK warehouse.
$3.33
HPB-Diamond

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$4.48
MannBooks

Location: Woodbine, MD
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p. Audience: General/trade.
$4.50
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$4.50
WonderBook

Location: Frederick, MD
Ask seller a question
Good
Good condition. Stamped on page edges.
$5.59
bookseller909

Location: ANKENY, IA
Good
Used-Good. **RECEIVE IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS WHEN YOU CHOOSE EXPEDITED SHIPPING!
[...]
$5.61
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB

Location: Frederick, MD
Good
Good condition. Stamped on page edges.
$5.62
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$6.28
bluevelvetelk

Location: Waite Park, MN
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
$6.67
HPB-Emerald

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$6.73
AJA Bookstore

Location: Venice, CA
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Cover has moderate shelf wear with a couple of bumped corners and
[...]
$6.92
text book recycle

Location: malone, NY
Acceptable
We ship everyday and offer PRIORITY SHIPPING.
$7.86
Paws, Not Claws! Associates

Location: Ithaca, NY
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Pb vg clean text.
$7.87
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.
$8.00
Powell's Books

Location: Portland, OR
Acceptable
$8.05
The Book Cellar

Location: Nashua, NH
Very Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Great used condition. A portion of your purchase of this book will
[...]
$8.15
HPB-Ruby

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.42
Symposium Books - Westminster

Location: Providence, RI
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Some books may have remainder mark.
$8.97
HPB-Ruby

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.98
BookCellarNH

Location: Nashua, NH
Ask seller a question
Very Good
Great used condition. A portion of your purchase of this book will be
[...]
$9.72
stellarmedia

Location: Buffalo, NY
Like New
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
$9.77
readmybooks

Location: Artesia, CA
Ask seller a question
Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
$9.83
readmybooks

Location: Artesia, CA
Ask seller a question
Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
$10.38