Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $20.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $1.11
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $11.38
You save: 43%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Goodwill BookWorks
Location: Austin, TX
Condition: Acceptable
9780545290463 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
9780545290463 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or
[...]
Seller: GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
Location: Aurora, IL
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Item in acceptable condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$1.15
Comments:
0140168249 Item in acceptable condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Very Good
Shows some signs of wear from usage. Is no longer bright/shinny. Edge wear from storage and shelving.
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
Shows some signs of wear from usage. Is no longer bright/shinny. Edge wear from storage and shelving.
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: AwesomeBooksUSA
Location: Valley Cottage, NY
Condition: Very Good
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
Price:
$3.11
Comments:
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
Seller: Shelf Life Art & Supply Co.
Location: Greensboro, NC
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$3.75
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Solr Books
Location: Skokie, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition.
Price:
$5.08
Comments:
Very Good condition.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Owner's name on inside.
Price:
$5.08
Comments:
Good condition. Owner's name on inside.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$5.35
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included. Aa
Price:
$5.37
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included. Aa
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.46
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition.
Price:
$5.59
Comments:
Very Good condition.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Owners name on inside.
Price:
$5.59
Comments:
Good condition. Owners name on inside.
Seller: bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Price:
$5.60
Comments:
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included. Aa
Price:
$5.65
Comments:
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included. Aa
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.83
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Powell's Books
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Acceptable
Price:
$6.46
Comments:
Seller: GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
Location: Aurora, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Item in good condition and has highlighting/writing on text. Used texts may not contain supplemental items such as CDs, info-trac etc...
Price:
$7.21
Comments:
0140168249 Item in good condition and has highlighting/writing on text. Used texts may not contain supplemental items such as CDs, info-trac etc...
Seller: Book Outlet
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: New
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Price:
$7.30
Comments:
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$7.94
Comments:
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.98
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: stellarmedia
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: Like New
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$9.77
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Powell's Books
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$11.08
Comments:
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).