Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $18.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $10.00
You save: 44%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
new Add to Cart $16.20
You save: 10%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: secondsale
Location: Montgomery, IL Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$1.00
Comments:
Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: Nettextstore
Location: Lincoln, NE
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24
[...]
Seller: GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
Location: Aurora, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$1.12
Comments:
0140168249 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: Clickgoodwill
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Condition: Acceptable
This is a paper back book. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours.
Price:
$1.62
Comments:
This is a paper back book. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours.
Seller: Hippo Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.67
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: AwesomeBooksUSA
Location: Valley Cottage, NY
Condition: Very Good
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
Price:
$3.11
Comments:
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
Seller: Hawking Books
Location: Upland, CA
Condition: Good
0140168249 Good Condition. Has some writing/highlighting. Tear on cover. Five star seller-Buy with confidence!
Price:
$3.13
Comments:
0140168249 Good Condition. Has some writing/highlighting. Tear on cover. Five star seller-Buy with confidence!
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Shelf Life Art & Supply Co.
Location: Greensboro, NC
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$3.75
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.93
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: 8trax Media
Location: Mansfield, MA
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Good shape with typical wear. Has a remainder mark. Paperback Used-Good 19951st.
Price:
$4.15
Comments:
Good shape with typical wear. Has a remainder mark. Paperback Used-Good 19951st.
Seller: Book Outlet
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: New
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
Price:
$4.63
Comments:
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
Price:
$5.59
Comments:
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
Seller: bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Price:
$5.60
Comments:
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Seller: bookseller909
Location: ANKENY, IA
Condition: Good
Used-Good. **RECEIVE IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS WHEN YOU CHOOSE EXPEDITED SHIPPING!
[...]
Price:
$5.61
Comments:
Used-Good. **RECEIVE IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS WHEN YOU CHOOSE EXPEDITED SHIPPING!
[...]
Seller: MannBooks
Location: Woodbine, MD
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.83
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: BookCellarNH
Location: Nashua, NH Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Great used condition. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship
[...]
Price:
$6.16
Comments:
Great used condition. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship
[...]
Seller: BookCellarNH
Location: Nashua, NH Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1,000,000 satisfied
[...]
Price:
$6.16
Comments:
Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1,000,000 satisfied
[...]
Seller: The Book Cellar
Location: Nashua, NH
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1, 000,
[...]
Price:
$6.92
Comments:
0140168249 Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1, 000,
[...]
Seller: eCampus_
Location: Lexington, KY Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with any used book purchases. Ships
[...]
Price:
$7.50
Comments:
Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with any used book purchases. Ships
[...]
Seller: TextbookRush
Location: Grandview Hts, OH Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
All orders ship SAME or NEXT business day. Expedited shipments will be
[...]
Price:
$8.30
Comments:
All orders ship SAME or NEXT business day. Expedited shipments will be
[...]
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$11.53
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$11.71
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).