Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $20.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $9.18
You save: 54%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Product notice Not returnable and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
new Add to Cart $10.65
You save: 47%
Marketplace Item
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: ecampus
Location: Lexington, KY Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with any used book purchases. Ships
[...]
Price:
$10.77
Comments:
Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with any used book purchases. Ships
[...]
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Acceptable
Noticeably used book. Text is legible but may be soiled and have binding
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
Noticeably used book. Text is legible but may be soiled and have binding
[...]
Seller: Big River Books
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Condition: Very Good
The cover may have some normal wear. The text has no notes or markings.
Price:
$2.81
Comments:
The cover may have some normal wear. The text has no notes or markings.
Seller: Big River Books
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Condition: Good
Cover and/or pages are damaged.
Price:
$2.81
Comments:
Cover and/or pages are damaged.
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.77
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. A copy that has been read but remains intact. May contain markings such as bookplates, stamps, limited notes and highlighting, or a few light stains.
Price:
$6.17
Comments:
Good condition. A copy that has been read but remains intact. May contain markings such as bookplates, stamps, limited notes and highlighting, or a few light stains.
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Houston,, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$7.09
Comments:
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$8.64
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$8.81
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$8.84
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.98
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$9.19
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: justsomedeals
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Condition: Like New
Pages inside absolutely clean. May have chip, creases/scratches/scuff marks to cover and spine. Has remainder mark on the bottom edge.
Price:
$10.52
Comments:
Pages inside absolutely clean. May have chip, creases/scratches/scuff marks to cover and spine. Has remainder mark on the bottom edge.
Seller: Book Outlet
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: New
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Price:
$10.65
Comments:
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Seller: Solr Books
Location: Skokie, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Price:
$11.21
Comments:
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Seller: Abacus Bookshop
Location: Pittsford, NY
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
8vo, 308 pp.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
8vo, 308 pp.
Seller: eCampus.com
Location: Lexington, KY
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$12.66
Comments:
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Houston,, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$20.08
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).