Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $20.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $1.00
You save: 95%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $12.65
You save: 37%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: secondsale
29,703 orders (94% success)
Location: Montgomery, IL Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$1.00
Comments:
Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: More Than Words
1,378 orders (91% success)
Location: Waltham, MA
Condition: Acceptable
The book is a readable copy showing signs of wear and the pages are intact.
[...]
Price:
$1.66
Comments:
The book is a readable copy showing signs of wear and the pages are intact.
[...]
Seller: GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
17,547 orders (94% success)
Location: Montgomery, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$2.25
Comments:
0140168249 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: Open Books Ltd
1,111 orders (96% success)
Location: Chicago, IL
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
Spine creased, but binding still sound. Tanned pages. Used textbook with
[...]
Price:
$2.63
Comments:
Spine creased, but binding still sound. Tanned pages. Used textbook with
[...]
Seller: Goodwill Books
770 orders (95% success)
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Condition: Acceptable
Fairly worn, but readable and intact. If applicable: Dust jacket, disc or access code may not be included.
Price:
$2.81
Comments:
Fairly worn, but readable and intact. If applicable: Dust jacket, disc or access code may not be included.
Seller: secondsale
29,703 orders (94% success)
Location: Montgomery, IL Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$3.22
Comments:
Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: GoodDealsOnUsedBooks
17,547 orders (94% success)
Location: Montgomery, IL
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Price:
$3.62
Comments:
0140168249 Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc...
Seller: HPB Inc.
8,242 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
110 orders (93% success)
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. With remainder mark.
Price:
$5.48
Comments:
Good condition. With remainder mark.
Seller: Ergodebooks
15,314 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$5.86
Comments:
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
320 orders (94% success)
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. With remainder mark.
Price:
$6.16
Comments:
Good condition. With remainder mark.
Seller: HPB-Ruby
7,034 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.41
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: readmybooks
9,657 orders (96% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$9.05
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
3,023 orders (94% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$9.14
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: readmybooks
9,657 orders (96% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$10.32
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
3,023 orders (94% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$10.43
Comments:
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: Powell's Books
969 orders (95% success)
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$11.08
Comments:
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).