Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $18.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $3.75
You save: 79%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $16.20
You save: 10%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Shelf Life Art & Supply Co.
Location: Greensboro, NC
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$3.75
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Seattle Goodwill
Location: Seattle, WA
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Pages may include notes, underlining, and highlighting.
Price:
$5.23
Comments:
May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Pages may include notes, underlining, and highlighting.
Seller: Goodwill BookWorks
Location: Austin, TX
Condition: Acceptable
9780545290463 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or
[...]
Price:
$5.38
Comments:
9780545290463 A book with obvious wear. May have some damage to the cover or
[...]
Seller: bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Price:
$6.36
Comments:
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
Seller: Orion Tech
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Condition: New
0140168249.
Price:
$7.76
Comments:
0140168249.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Owners name on inside.
Price:
$8.18
Comments:
Good condition. Owners name on inside.
Seller: stellarmedia
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: Like New
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$9.77
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Owner's name on inside.
Price:
$10.53
Comments:
Good condition. Owner's name on inside.
Seller: bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains limited writing and/or highlighting.
Price:
$10.87
Comments:
0140168249 Contains limited writing and/or highlighting.
Seller: Alibris
Location: Sparks, NV
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p.
Price:
$13.36
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p.
Seller: Book Culture Inc.
Location: New York, NY
Condition: Acceptable
May have highlighting, underlining, or margin notes. Textbooks may not include access codes. Shipped from a real independent book store in Manhattan.
Price:
$13.43
Comments:
May have highlighting, underlining, or margin notes. Textbooks may not include access codes. Shipped from a real independent book store in Manhattan.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$13.52
Comments:
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: SurplusTextSeller
Location: Columbia, MO
Condition: Good
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Price:
$13.87
Comments:
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Seller: indoo.com
Location: Avenel, NJ
Condition: New
0140168249.
Price:
$14.36
Comments:
0140168249.
Seller: bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains limited writing and/or highlighting.
Price:
$14.56
Comments:
0140168249 Contains limited writing and/or highlighting.
Seller: BargainBookStores
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Condition: New
Believing Is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art (Paperback or Softback)
Price:
$14.70
Comments:
Believing Is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art (Paperback or Softback)
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).