Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $20.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249
used Add to Cart $1.11
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $12.65
You save: 37%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
1,968 orders (93% success)
Location: Ogden, UT
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: More Than Words
1,174 orders (91% success)
Location: Waltham, MA
Condition: Good
Wrapped A sound copy with only light wear. Overall a solid copy at a great
[...]
Price:
$1.11
Comments:
Wrapped A sound copy with only light wear. Overall a solid copy at a great
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
7,517 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
5,621 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,952 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
5,701 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Book Outlet
1,143 orders (97% success)
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: Good
Good.
Price:
$5.46
Comments:
Good.
Seller: Powell's Books
982 orders (94% success)
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Acceptable
Price:
$6.46
Comments:
Seller: HPB-Emerald
4,947 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
7,517 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$7.17
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
10,921 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$7.72
Comments:
Excellent customer service. Prompt Customer Service. Buy with confidence.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: Book Outlet
1,143 orders (97% success)
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: New
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Price:
$7.90
Comments:
New, Publisher overstock, may have small remainder mark. Excellent condition, never read, purchased from publisher as excess inventory.
Seller: Bookfeathers LLC
13 orders (85% success)
Location: Lewisburg, PA
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Neither remainder nor ex-lib. Softcover in white, brown-red and blue
[...]
Price:
$8.43
Comments:
Neither remainder nor ex-lib. Softcover in white, brown-red and blue
[...]
Seller: Abacus Bookshop
31 orders (84% success)
Location: Pittsford, NY
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
8vo, 308 pp.
Price:
$8.43
Comments:
8vo, 308 pp.
Seller: Orion Tech
461 orders (91% success)
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Condition: New
0140168249.
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
0140168249.
Seller: HPB Inc.
7,517 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
5,621 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.97
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
1,319 orders (92% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included. A
Price:
$9.31
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included. A
Seller: readmybooks
10,545 orders (97% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$9.45
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
1,319 orders (92% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included. A
Price:
$9.47
Comments:
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included. A
Seller: readmybooks
10,545 orders (97% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$9.61
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: stellarmedia
2 orders (50% success)
Location: Buffalo, NY
Condition: Like New
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$9.77
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).