Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
  • ISBN: 9780140168242
  • ISBN10: 0140168249

Believing Is Seeing Creating the Culture of Art

by Mary Anne Staniszewski

  • List Price: $18.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Publish date: 12/01/1994
used Add to Cart $11.52
You save: 36%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
new Add to Cart $16.20
You save: 10%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Nettextstore
Location: Lincoln, NE
Good
Shipping Icon
Books have varying amounts of wear and highlighting. Usually ships within 24
[...]
$1.11
Clean Earth Books
Location: Atlanta, GA
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
A used book that may have some cosmetic wear (i.e. shelf-wear, slightly torn
[...]
$1.11
Orion Tech
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Acceptable
0140168249.
$1.11
Clickgoodwill
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Acceptable
This is a paper back book. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours.
$1.62
Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
$1.67
Hippo Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
$1.67
Hippo Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Acceptable
Noticeably used book. Text is legible but may be soiled and have binding
[...]
$1.67
AwesomeBooksUSA
Location: Valley Cottage, NY
Very Good
This book is in very good condition. The cover may have some limited signs of
[...]
$3.11
Hawking Books
Location: Upland, CA
Good
0140168249 Good Condition. Has some writing/highlighting. Tear on cover. Five star seller-Buy with confidence!
$3.32
HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.37
Shelf Life Art & Supply Co.
Location: Greensboro, NC
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. Audience: General/trade.
$3.75
Better World Books West
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Good
Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on
[...]
$3.78
HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.93
HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.38
bluevelvetelk
Location: Waite Park, MN
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Contains writing and/or highlighting.
$5.56
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
$5.61
bookseller909
Location: ANKENY, IA
Good
Used-Good. **RECEIVE IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS WHEN YOU CHOOSE EXPEDITED SHIPPING!
[...]
$5.61
MannBooks
Location: Woodbine, MD
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 320 p. Audience: General/trade.
$5.62
HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.83
BookCellarNH
Location: Nashua, NH Ask seller a question
Very Good
Great used condition. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship
[...]
$6.16
BookCellarNH
Location: Nashua, NH Ask seller a question
Good
Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1,000,000 satisfied
[...]
$6.16
WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained. Several pages folded over.
$6.28
HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$6.28
MEADOWLANDMEDIA
Location: fayetteville, AR
New
$6.92
The Book Cellar
Location: Nashua, NH
Good
Shipping Icon
0140168249 Has heavy shelf wear, but still a good reading copy. Over 1, 000,
[...]
$6.92
TextbookRush
Location: Grandview Hts, OH Ask seller a question
Good
All orders ship SAME or NEXT business day. Expedited shipments will be
[...]
$8.30
readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
$9.97
readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
$10.13
Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$15.58
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).