Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Constitutions in Crisis Political Violence and the Rule of Law

by John E. Finn

  • ISBN: 9780195057386
  • ISBN10: 0195057384

Constitutions in Crisis Political Violence and the Rule of Law

by John E. Finn

  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Oxford Univ Pr on Demand
  • Publish date: 01/01/1991
  • ISBN: 9780195057386
  • ISBN10: 0195057384
used Add to Cart $21.55
You save: 87%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $177.32
FREE economy shipping!
Description: "[An] exciting study of how constitutional systems cope with political violence....Finn advances his argument not only persuasively and with great clarity but also with passion."--Times Higher Education Supplement"A very useful study of constitution-maintenance in extreme situations....Searching scholarship and alertness to the terrible distorting demands of political self-preservation are especially prominent here. Recommended for all college and university collections as well as libraries seeking to serve informed general readers."--Choice"Well written and soundly researched. A first class study, on a comparative basis, of anti-terrorist legislation in western democracies."--John F. Murphy, School of Law, Villanova University"This is an insightful book that moves gracefully from fact to theory and tells some dramatic stories in between. At a time when comparativists are once again recognizing the importance of institutions and constitutions, this book is an especially important contribution to the study of politics."--Nancy Bermeo, Princeton University"Finn's important book is in the tradition of Corwin, Rossiter, Friedrich, but he has asked questions they left unresolved. A provocative work, this will be the leading study in the field for years to come."--Walter F. Murphy, Princeton University"[An] exciting study of how constitutional systems cope with political violence....Finn advances his argument not only persuasively and with great clarity but also with passion."--Times Higher Education Supplement"A very useful study of constitution-maintenance in extreme situations....Searching scholarship and alertness to the terrible distorting demands of political self-preservation are especially prominent here. Recommended for all college and university collections as well as libraries seeking to serve informed general readers."--Choice"Well written and soundly researched. A first class study, on a comparative basis, of anti-terrorist legislation in western democracies."--John F. Murphy, School of Law, Villanova University"This is an insightful book that moves gracefully from fact to theory and tells some dramatic stories in between. At a time when comparativists are once again recognizing the importance of institutions and constitutions, this book is an especially important contribution to the study of politics."--Nancy Bermeo, Princeton University"Finn's important book is in the tradition of Corwin, Rossiter, Friedrich, but he has asked questions they left unresolved. A provocative work, this will be the leading study in the field for years to come."--Walter F. Murphy, Princeton University"Finn's three part study is a particularly worthy contribution to the quest for solutions within the liberal/analytical tradition."--Northern Ireland Legal Quarterly"Enlightening and substantive....The value of Finn's book is that it provides for those not squeamish about thinking in terms of universals, and who are committed to constitutional maintenance, a means by which to retain that commitment, even in the face of constitutional crisis. In the process, following Finn, they will neither lose the courage of their convictions nor inadvertently jeopardize their constitutional government as did the Weimar republicans.Finn has thus provided a valuable prop with which to help shore up constitutional democracy at its most critically vulnerable moments."--The Review of Politics"The detailed discussion of how British regulations since the 1920s have worked is informative and impressive....Constitutions in Crisis is a fair-minded, careful, illuminating, and well-written book that will deeply interest a wide range of political scientists--specialists in constitutional law, political theory, comparative politics, and terrorist studies."--American Political Science Review
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$21.55
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: Found Books
Location: AUSTIN, TX
Condition: Good
0195057384.
Price:
$48.37
Comments:
0195057384.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).