Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
Father India: How Encounters with an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West cover
  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • List Price: $25.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publish date: 11/01/1998
used Add to Cart $1.11
You save: 96%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $4.48
You save: 82%
Marketplace Item
Description
Father India is composed of several mini biographies of 20th-century Westerners whose lives and thought were radically transformed by their experience of India. As these major figures of the 20th century attempted to comprehend and perfect Western civilization through their visits to India, their unconscious assumptions about social life in their own cultures were turned upside down, returning to the modern West a changed understanding of itself. Following in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Edmund Wilson, Father India is an intriguing work of intellectual and cultural history, remarkable for its accessibility and popular appeal.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Better World Books West

Location: Mishawaka, IN
Very Good
Ships from Reno, NV. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
$1.11
Clean Earth Books

Location: Atlanta, GA
Good
Shipping Icon
This item shows some wear from consistent use, but remains in good condition
[...]
$1.11
Hippo Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Good
Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited
[...]
$1.67
Owls Books

Location: Toledo, OH
Good
Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited
[...]
$1.67
HPB-Ruby

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$2.81
HPB-Sapphire

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.37
HPB-Emerald

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.37
R. Peirson

Location: Port Townsend, WA
New
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
$4.48
HPB Inc.

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$4.50
Archer's Used & Rare Books

Location: Kent, OH
Like New
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
$4.72
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB

Location: Frederick, MD
Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
$4.77
Fred Lowrance Books

Location: Crown Point, IN
Very Good
8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" Tan boards with white spine. Pictorial dustjacket with sticker residue on front panel. Appendix, bibliography, index, 324 pp. Clean tight copy.
$5.06
HPB-Sapphire

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
WonderBook

Location: Frederick, MD
Ask seller a question
Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
$5.72
Dunaway Books

Location: Saint Louis, MO
Very Good
Shipping Icon
$6.61
HPB-Ruby

Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$7.18
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$8.05
Pomfret Street Books

Location: Carlisle, PA
Like New
Binding tight, pages clean.
$11.25
Orca Books

Location: Olympia, WA
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Minor wear. Text is clean.
$11.25
George Lyon

Location: Alexandria, VA
Like New
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
$16.82
BookHouse On-Line

Location: Minneapolis, MN
Very Good
Shipping Icon
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
$16.87
Eastburn Books

Location: Albany, OR
Good
G+ hardcover in VG jacket. SIGNED by author on half title page w/No
[...]
$16.87
Ergodebooks

Location: Richmond, TX
Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$19.35
One Stop Shop Bookstore

Location: Memphis, TN
Good
Shipping Icon
$22.92