Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • List Price: $25.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publish date: 11/01/1998
  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033
used Add to Cart $1.62
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $6.73
You save: 73%
Marketplace Item
Description: Father India is composed of several mini biographies of 20th-century Westerners whose lives and thought were radically transformed by their experience of India. As these major figures of the 20th century attempted to comprehend and perfect Western civilization through their visits to India, their unconscious assumptions about social life in their own cultures were turned upside down, returning to the modern West a changed understanding of itself. Following in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Edmund Wilson, Father India is an intriguing work of intellectual and cultural history, remarkable for its accessibility and popular appeal.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.62
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Gulf Coast Books
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$1.76
Comments:
Seller: Once Upon A Time Books
Location: Tontitown, AR
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear.
Price:
$2.17
Comments:
This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear.
Seller: Friends of the Phoenix Library
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
This is a former library book with library stickers and stamps. 100% of this purchase will support literacy programs through a nonprofit organization!
Price:
$3.25
Comments:
This is a former library book with library stickers and stamps. 100% of this purchase will support literacy programs through a nonprofit organization!
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Archer's Used & Rare Books
Location: Kent, OH
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Price:
$4.72
Comments:
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Seller: Dunaway Books
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$6.61
Comments:
Seller: R. Peirson
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Condition: New
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Very Good
Crisp clean w/light shelfwear/edgewear-may have remainder mark Standard-sized.
Price:
$7.28
Comments:
Crisp clean w/light shelfwear/edgewear-may have remainder mark Standard-sized.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$8.51
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: BookHouse On-Line
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Price:
$12.15
Comments:
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Seller: George Lyon
Location: Alexandria, VA
Condition: Like New
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Price:
$16.82
Comments:
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Seller: One Stop Shop Bookstore
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$24.60
Comments:
Seller: Ground Zero Books Ltd
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Glued binding. Paper over boards. vii, [3], 324 p. Selected Bibliography.
[...]
Price:
$39.37
Comments:
Glued binding. Paper over boards. vii, [3], 324 p. Selected Bibliography.
[...]
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).