Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033

Father India: How Encounters With an Ancient Culture Transformed the Modern West

by Paine, Jeffery

  • List Price: $25.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publish date: 11/01/1998
  • ISBN: 9780060173036
  • ISBN10: 0060173033
used Add to Cart $1.62
You save: 94%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $6.73
You save: 73%
Marketplace Item
Description: Father India is composed of several mini biographies of 20th-century Westerners whose lives and thought were radically transformed by their experience of India. As these major figures of the 20th century attempted to comprehend and perfect Western civilization through their visits to India, their unconscious assumptions about social life in their own cultures were turned upside down, returning to the modern West a changed understanding of itself. Following in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Edmund Wilson, Father India is an intriguing work of intellectual and cultural history, remarkable for its accessibility and popular appeal.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
1,937 orders (94% success)
Location: Ogden, UT
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.62
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Coas Books, Inc.
646 orders (96% success)
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Used book is in good condition. May contain inscription. Customer service is our first priority! Providing readers with excellent books and service since 1983.
Price:
$2.01
Comments:
Used book is in good condition. May contain inscription. Customer service is our first priority! Providing readers with excellent books and service since 1983.
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,909 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
4,932 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,909 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
5,684 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Archer's Used & Rare Books
1 order (100% success)
Location: Kent, OH
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Price:
$4.72
Comments:
Remainder mark. Fine/Fine Dust Jacket is in as new condition, apart from
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
84 orders (93% success)
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Price:
$5.82
Comments:
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Seller: Powell's Books
977 orders (94% success)
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$6.46
Comments:
Seller: Dunaway Books
61 orders (95% success)
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$6.61
Comments:
Seller: R. Peirson
3 orders (67% success)
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Condition: New
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Remainder mark on top edge. Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
339 orders (97% success)
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Like New
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Price:
$6.82
Comments:
Like New condition. Like New dust jacket.
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
1,640 orders (97% success)
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Very Good
0060173033 crisp clean w/light shelfwear/edgewear-may have remainder mark.
Price:
$7.28
Comments:
0060173033 crisp clean w/light shelfwear/edgewear-may have remainder mark.
Seller: EKER Books
2 orders (100% success)
Location: Bryantown, MD
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Price:
$7.86
Comments:
Seller: Orca Books
62 orders (77% success)
Location: Olympia, WA
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Minor wear. Text is clean.
Price:
$8.43
Comments:
Minor wear. Text is clean.
Seller: Pomfret Street Books
9 orders (89% success)
Location: Carlisle, PA
Condition: Like New
Binding tight, pages clean.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Binding tight, pages clean.
Seller: Eastburn Books
Location: Albany, OR
Condition: Good
Good+ hardcover in VG jacket. SIGNED by author on half title page w/No
[...]
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Good+ hardcover in VG jacket. SIGNED by author on half title page w/No
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
10,747 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$11.96
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: George Lyon
14 orders (93% success)
Location: Alexandria, VA
Condition: Like New
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Price:
$16.82
Comments:
Glued binding. Paper over boards. With dust jacket. 324 p.
Seller: BookHouse On-Line
61 orders (97% success)
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
Tight and clean in beautiful unmarred dj. Very nice copy.
Seller: Lyric Vibes
3 orders (100% success)
Location: Geneva, IL
Condition: New
0060173033 New Condition *** Right Off the Shelf | Ships within 2 Business Days ~~~ Customer Service Is Our Top Priority! -Thank you for LOOKING: -)
Price:
$63.55
Comments:
0060173033 New Condition *** Right Off the Shelf | Ships within 2 Business Days ~~~ Customer Service Is Our Top Priority! -Thank you for LOOKING: -)
Seller: mallenstores
Location: columbus, GA
Condition: Like New
Like New.
Price:
$94.07
Comments:
Like New.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).