Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

German Realists in the Nineteenth Century

by Lukacs, Georg

German Realists in the Nineteenth Century cover
  • ISBN: 9780262121712
  • ISBN10: 0262121719

German Realists in the Nineteenth Century

by Lukacs, Georg

  • List Price: $44.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: MIT Press
  • Publish date: 01/01/2006
  • ISBN: 9780262121712
  • ISBN10: 0262121719
used Add to Cart $11.25
You save: 74%
Marketplace Item
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Description: Georg Lukacs was one of the most controversial Marxist philosophers of the twentieth century. In this book, however, he appears in another guise: as a literary historian in the tradition of Sainte-Beuve and Belinsky, offering an advanced introduction to one of the richest periods of European literature.

These previously untranslated essays -- on Heinrich von Kleist, Joseph Eichendorff, Georg Buchner, Heinrich Heine, Gottfried Keller, Wilhelm Raabe, and Theodor Fontane -- were written between 1936 and 1950. They illuminate Lukacs's enduring love of German literature and his faith in the humanist tradition. In all of them, moreover, he can be seen actively intervening in the cultural debates of the time -- on the role of literature, on the literary tradition in society, and on the relationship between literature and politics.

Expand description
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Chaparral Books
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Size: 9x6x1; The binding is tight, corners sharp. Text and images unmarked. The dust jacket shows some very light handling, in a mylar cover. 8vo. 360pp.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Size: 9x6x1; The binding is tight, corners sharp. Text and images unmarked. The dust jacket shows some very light handling, in a mylar cover. 8vo. 360pp.
Seller: Redux Books
Location: Wyoming, MI
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
APPEARS UNREAD. Hardcover with dust jacket. Dust Jacket shows minimal
[...]
Price:
$13.45
Comments:
APPEARS UNREAD. Hardcover with dust jacket. Dust Jacket shows minimal
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Houston,, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$34.83
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).