Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Ghetto Writing Traditional and Eastern Jewry in German-Jewish Literature from Heine to Hilsenrath

by Anne Fuchs

  • ISBN: 9781571130099
  • ISBN10: 1571130098

Ghetto Writing Traditional and Eastern Jewry in German-Jewish Literature from Heine to Hilsenrath

by Anne Fuchs

  • List Price: $75.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Inc
  • Publish date: 01/01/1999
  • ISBN: 9781571130099
  • ISBN10: 1571130098
used Add to Cart $101.36
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $119.22
Marketplace Item
Description: Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries ghetto fiction played an important part in the articulation of a particularly German-Jewish quest for identity. The volume Ghetto Writing takes the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the publication of Leopold Kompert's collection of ghetto stories Aus dem Ghetto (1848) to fill a gap and give testimony to an important genre that has been unduly silenced in the literary histories of the post-war period. The volume presents some 15 articles by scholars from Scandinavia, Germany, Great Britain, and Ireland whose contributions offer new analyses of ghetto writing by well known authors such as Heinrich Heine and Joseph Roth, and completely new material on forgotten ghetto writers who deserve to be rediscovered. The articles cover various types of ghetto writing, ranging from ghetto fiction in the tradition of Leopold Kompert and Karl Emil Franzos, to diaries, travelogues, autobiography, and even contemporary German HipHop and Rap lyrics.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: Good
Price:
$101.36
Comments:
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: New
Price:
$119.22
Comments:
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).