Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Glory and Terror Seven Deaths Under the French Revolution

by Charlotte Mandell

  • ISBN: 9780415926164
  • ISBN10: 0415926165

Glory and Terror Seven Deaths Under the French Revolution

by Charlotte Mandell

  • List Price: $165.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • Publish date: 05/01/2001
  • ISBN: 9780415926164
  • ISBN10: 0415926165
used Add to Cart $3.36
You save: 98%
Marketplace Item
Description: Fully engaging our fascination with the macabre, Glory and Terror illustrates how certain corpses became highly charged political symbols during the course of the French Revolution. Arguing that the key moments of the Revolution were "dialogues with the dead", this fascinating study effectively evokes the passions inflamed by seven famous corpses. The author takes a look at the very public death of the great orator and libertine, Mirabeau; vividly describes the pageantry of the procession carrying Voltaire's body to the Pantheon; and investigates the sexually-charged myths surrounding the murder of Marie Antoinette's intimate friend, the Princess de Lamballe. He brilliantly recreates the tense and awe-inspiring spectacle of Louis XVI's execution, and examines the agonizing final hours of the defeated and disfigured Robespierre

In Glory and Terror, Antoine de Baecque, a brilliant young scholar and writer with a growing international reputation, focuses his considerable talents on dissecting the passions propelling the Revolution, which are captured by his virtuostic and visceral descriptions. With each episode, he demonstrates how the body became a powerful icon that helped to push the Revolution into each successive phase. Anyone who enjoys dazzling cultural history in the vein of Robert Darnton, Carlo Ginzburg and Anthony Grafton will revel in Glory and Terror.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Better World Books West
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Condition: Good
Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may
[...]
Price:
$3.36
Comments:
Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may
[...]
Seller: Warren Hahn
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Book. 9 1/2 h x 6 1/2w. A real nice 243 page first edition hardcover with "1"
[...]
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Book. 9 1/2 h x 6 1/2w. A real nice 243 page first edition hardcover with "1"
[...]
Seller: Lottabooks
Location: garden grove, CA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
TRANSLATED BY CHARLOTTE MANDELL~FIRST PRINTING (10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1)~AN EXTREMELY CLEAN AND BRIGHT UNMARKED COPY OF THIS BOOK.
Price:
$13.22
Comments:
TRANSLATED BY CHARLOTTE MANDELL~FIRST PRINTING (10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1)~AN EXTREMELY CLEAN AND BRIGHT UNMARKED COPY OF THIS BOOK.
Seller: Barker Books
Location: Spokane, WA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
First American printing, near fien in like jacket with both showing just the
[...]
Price:
$13.50
Comments:
First American printing, near fien in like jacket with both showing just the
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$18.51
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: The Book House - Saint Louis
Location: St. Louis, MO
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Good hardcover, 2001, very good dust jacket. Some underlining by previous owner in text.
Price:
$22.50
Comments:
Good hardcover, 2001, very good dust jacket. Some underlining by previous owner in text.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).