Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Slapboxing With Jesus Stories

by Victor D. Lavalle

  • ISBN: 9780375705908
  • ISBN10: 0375705902

Slapboxing With Jesus Stories

by Victor D. Lavalle

  • List Price: $15.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Random House Inc
  • Publish date: 10/01/1999
  • ISBN: 9780375705908
  • ISBN10: 0375705902
used Add to Cart $1.23
You save: 92%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $11.06
You save: 26%
Marketplace Item
Description: Thirteen original and interconnected stories in the tradition of Junot Diaz and Sherman Alexie. Victor D. La Valle's astonishing, violent, and funny debut offers harrowing glimpses at the vulnerable lives of young people who struggle not only to come of age, but to survive the city streets.

In "ancient history, " two best friends graduating from high school fight to be the one to leave first for a better world; each one wants to be the fortunate son. In "pops, " an African American boy meets his father, a white cop from Connecticut, and tries not to care. And in "kids on colden street, " a boy is momentarily uplifted by the arrival of a younger sister only to discover that brutality leads only to brutality in the natural order of things.

Written with raw candor, grit, and a cautious heart, "Slapboxing with Jesus" introduces an exciting and bold new voice in contemporary fiction. La Valle's voices echo long after their stories are told.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Goodwill Southern California
179 orders (94% success)
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Condition: Good
The cover is clean but may show some signs of wear. Some pages may have folding.
Price:
$1.23
Comments:
The cover is clean but may show some signs of wear. Some pages may have folding.
Seller: One Planet Books
1,596 orders (97% success)
Location: Columbia, MO
Condition: Good
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Price:
$3.60
Comments:
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Seller: citywbooks
295 orders (94% success)
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Clean book with light sign of reading. Quick response!
Price:
$3.65
Comments:
Clean book with light sign of reading. Quick response!
Seller: HPB-Emerald
6,468 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.37
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
347 orders (94% success)
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition.
Price:
$4.60
Comments:
Good condition.
Seller: SurplusTextSeller
5,884 orders (95% success)
Location: Columbia, MO
Condition: Good
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Price:
$4.81
Comments:
Ships same day or next business day! UPS shipping available (Priority Mail
[...]
Seller: HPB-Movies
1,222 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.93
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
106 orders (93% success)
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition.
Price:
$5.79
Comments:
Good condition.
Seller: Gian Luigi Fine Books, Inc.
6 orders (83% success)
Location: Albany, NY
Condition: Like New
0375705902.
Price:
$7.81
Comments:
0375705902.
Seller: readmybooks
8,344 orders (95% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$8.64
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
3,510 orders (93% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$8.64
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: readmybooks
8,344 orders (95% success)
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$8.74
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
3,510 orders (93% success)
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$8.74
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: Ergodebooks
16,593 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$8.80
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: indoo.com
3,142 orders (96% success)
Location: Avenel, NJ
Condition: New
0375705902.
Price:
$11.06
Comments:
0375705902.
Seller: Powell's Books
991 orders (94% success)
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Like New
Price:
$11.11
Comments:
Seller: Ergodebooks
16,593 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$13.21
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: Robinson Street Books
10 orders (100% success)
Location: Binghamton, NY
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
0375705902 3rd printing. Fine. Free tracking USA. Quality, Value, Experience.
Price:
$13.50
Comments:
0375705902 3rd printing. Fine. Free tracking USA. Quality, Value, Experience.
Seller: One Stop Shop Bookstore
1,959 orders (96% success)
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$23.82
Comments:
Seller: Garys Books
1 order (100% success)
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Condition: New
Signed by Author(s) 0375705902 Paper Back Original. First print. Signed in
[...]
Price:
$37.12
Comments:
Signed by Author(s) 0375705902 Paper Back Original. First print. Signed in
[...]
Seller: Sawtooth Booksellers
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Paperback. First edition, first printing. A fine book in wrappers. A
[...]
Price:
$37.97
Comments:
Paperback. First edition, first printing. A fine book in wrappers. A
[...]
Seller: BrowsersBookstore.com
14 orders (100% success)
Location: Corvallis, OR
Condition: Like New
Signed. First Edition. Vintage Original. First edition. Signed by the author.
[...]
Price:
$39.37
Comments:
Signed. First Edition. Vintage Original. First edition. Signed by the author.
[...]
Seller: Monroe Street Books
1 order (100% success)
Location: Middlebury, VT
Condition: Very Good
213 pages, SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. Minor corner wear, otherwise, very clean and tight copy. Record # 455963.
Price:
$45.00
Comments:
213 pages, SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. Minor corner wear, otherwise, very clean and tight copy. Record # 455963.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).