Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Slapboxing With Jesus Stories

by Victor D. Lavalle

  • ISBN: 9780375705908
  • ISBN10: 0375705902

Slapboxing With Jesus Stories

by Victor D. Lavalle

  • List Price: $15.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Random House Inc
  • Publish date: 10/01/1999
  • ISBN: 9780375705908
  • ISBN10: 0375705902
used Add to Cart $3.08
You save: 79%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $9.66
You save: 36%
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
Description: Thirteen original and interconnected stories in the tradition of Junot Diaz and Sherman Alexie. Victor D. La Valle's astonishing, violent, and funny debut offers harrowing glimpses at the vulnerable lives of young people who struggle not only to come of age, but to survive the city streets.

In "ancient history, " two best friends graduating from high school fight to be the one to leave first for a better world; each one wants to be the fortunate son. In "pops, " an African American boy meets his father, a white cop from Connecticut, and tries not to care. And in "kids on colden street, " a boy is momentarily uplifted by the arrival of a younger sister only to discover that brutality leads only to brutality in the natural order of things.

Written with raw candor, grit, and a cautious heart, "Slapboxing with Jesus" introduces an exciting and bold new voice in contemporary fiction. La Valle's voices echo long after their stories are told.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.08
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.36
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.36
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.36
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Good
Bumped/creased still NICE! -may have remainder mark or previous owner's name Standard-sized.
Price:
$3.37
Comments:
Bumped/creased still NICE! -may have remainder mark or previous owner's name Standard-sized.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Price:
$4.73
Comments:
IMP: Acceptable- Do not include ACCESS CODE, CD-ROM or companion materials
[...]
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Acceptable
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$4.80
Comments:
Used-Acceptable: A readable copy. Full of highlighting, marking and writing, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: BookReadingInc
Location: Cerritos, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Price:
$4.95
Comments:
Used -Good : Contain highlighting, handwriting or underlining throughout the book, Access codes and supplements are not included.
Seller: readmybooks
Location: Artesia, CA Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Price:
$5.00
Comments:
IMP: Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion
[...]
Seller: HPB-Dallas
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and
[...]
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Gian Luigi Fine Books, Inc.
Location: Albany, NY
Condition: Like New
0375705902.
Price:
$7.82
Comments:
0375705902.
Seller: briansmonky
Location: Worcester, MA
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Carefully packaged and shipped within 24 hours! Most CDs and books have
[...]
Price:
$7.98
Comments:
Carefully packaged and shipped within 24 hours! Most CDs and books have
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Houston,, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$8.66
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).