Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Steady Work Essays in the Politics of Democratic Radicalism, 1953-1966

by Irving Howe

  • ISBN: 9780156849302
  • ISBN10: 0156849305

Steady Work Essays in the Politics of Democratic Radicalism, 1953-1966

by Irving Howe

  • List Price: $20.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Lightning Source Inc
  • Publish date: 10/01/1996
  • ISBN: 9780156849302
  • ISBN10: 0156849305
used Add to Cart $300.00
Marketplace Item
Description: With the gently astringent miniature morality tale from mythical Chelm as the epigraph for his book, Irving Howe invites attention to his steady scrutiny of the dilemmas of our time. He is a social critic in the tradition of Orwell and Koestler, and a political activist with a long tenure in the warfare of democratic leftists against all totalitarians. The period covered in these essays is relatively brief, but the experiences examined are many: the McCarthy years, the prolongation and distension of the Cold War, the new conservative moods among American intellectuals, the crack-up of domestic Stalinism, the Negro liberation movement, student rebellion, the crisis in Vietnam. This brilliant and challenging book reveals an intensely engaged mind, "struggling in behalf of and sometimes in opposition to its own premises, turning repeatedly to the themes of its commitment".
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$300.00
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).