Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Broken Estate Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

  • ISBN: 9780375752636
  • ISBN10: 0375752633

The Broken Estate Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

  • List Price: $19.00
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Random House Inc
  • Publish date: 07/01/2000
  • ISBN: 9780375752636
  • ISBN10: 0375752633
used Add to Cart $5.60
You save: 71%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $11.20
You save: 41%
Marketplace Item
Description: This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role in our lives. In a series of long essays, "The Broken Estate" ingeniously, innovatively explores the work of some of our greatest writers -- from Austen, Flaubert, and Woolf, to Pynchon, Updike and Morrison.

Every sentence of every essay registers Wood's fierce involvement with language, and his belief that criticism must take creative risks and not merely act as placid commentary. Central to his work has been a passionate interest in the progress and destiny of contemporary fiction, a desire to read it in the light of its history. For that, and for much else, he has been called his generation's most promising man of letters.

Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Good
Bumped/creased still NICE! -may have remainder mark or previous owner's name Standard-sized.
Price:
$5.60
Comments:
Bumped/creased still NICE! -may have remainder mark or previous owner's name Standard-sized.
Seller: Merry Men Books
Location: Mobile, AL
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 284 p. Modern Library (Paperback). Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 284 p. Modern Library (Paperback). Audience: General/trade.
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Powell's Books Chicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Condition: Like New
2000. Paperback. Small publisher's mark on bottom of text block. Fine.
Price:
$7.31
Comments:
2000. Paperback. Small publisher's mark on bottom of text block. Fine.
Seller: Corner Book Store
Location: Grand Rapids, MN
Condition: Very Good
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 304 p. Audience: General/trade.
Price:
$7.31
Comments:
Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 304 p. Audience: General/trade.
Seller: Powell's Books Chicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Condition: Very Good
2000. Paperback. Very Good.
Price:
$7.31
Comments:
2000. Paperback. Very Good.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition.
Price:
$8.99
Comments:
Very Good condition.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition.
Price:
$9.82
Comments:
Very Good condition.
Seller: briansmonky
Location: Worcester, MA
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Carefully packaged and shipped within 24 hours! Most CDs and books have
[...]
Price:
$11.20
Comments:
Carefully packaged and shipped within 24 hours! Most CDs and books have
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$12.91
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$56.22
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).