Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Delicate Distress

by Griffith

  • ISBN: 9780813120140
  • ISBN10: 0813120144

The Delicate Distress

by Griffith

  • List Price: $45.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Publisher: Univ Pr of Kentucky
  • Publish date: 05/01/1997
  • ISBN: 9780813120140
  • ISBN10: 0813120144
used Add to Cart $3.91
You save: 91%
Marketplace Item
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
ebook Buy $35.76
License: lifetime
Product notice May come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Description: Actress, playwright, and novelist, Elizabeth Griffith (1727-1793) won fame in England with the publication in 1757 of the first two volumes of Letters Between Henry and Frances, letters from her own courtship with Richard Griffith whom she secretly married in 1751. Her first novel, The Delicate Distress (1769), focuses on the problems women encounter after marriage -- the issue of financial independence for wives, the consequences of the interfaith relationships, and the promiscuity of their husbands.

Against a backdrop of rural England and Paris of the ancien regime, Griffith reimagines the epistolary novel of sensibility in the tradition of Samuel Richardson and Jean-Jacques Rousseau from a feminist perspective that centers on strong, intelligent, and virtuous women. Two sisters exchange letters about urgent ethical questions concerning love, marriage, morality, art, the duties of wives and husbands, and passion versus reason, while two men correspond about the same subjects. At the story's center is the deep distress of Emily Woodville, a virtuous young newlywed who suspects her husband of infidelity with a French marchioness from his past.

The third volume in the series Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women, The Delicate Distress contributes to our understanding of the development of the novel. As Cynthia Ricciardi and Susan Staves show, Griffith's exploration of the psychology of characters who observe and reflect but engage in no grand public actions anticipates Henry James. The editors' introduction places The Delicate Distress firmly in the tradition of the English novel, provides the most complete biography available on Griffith's life, and brings together the most importanteighteenth- and twentieth-century criticism of the novelist's work.

Expand description
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$3.91
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Sheboygan, WI Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$11.01
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: GIVENS BOOKS
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Book NF hardback in like dj, clean and tight.
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Book NF hardback in like dj, clean and tight.
Seller: Midtown Scholar Bookstore
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Condition: Very Good
With very good dust jacket. Very Good hardcover with light shelfwear-NICE! Standard-sized.
Price:
$15.63
Comments:
With very good dust jacket. Very Good hardcover with light shelfwear-NICE! Standard-sized.
Seller: Glover's Bookery, ABAA
Location: Lexington, KY
Condition: Like New
8vo 267 pp; DJ spine is faded, otherwise like new.; Always Delivery Confirmation. 35 Years Fast Excellent Service. We Know How To Pack Books.
Price:
$23.46
Comments:
8vo 267 pp; DJ spine is faded, otherwise like new.; Always Delivery Confirmation. 35 Years Fast Excellent Service. We Know How To Pack Books.
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: Good
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items. May be an ex-library book.
Price:
$64.97
Comments:
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items. May be an ex-library book.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).