Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • List Price: $40.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1
  • Publisher: Harpercollins
  • Publish date: 03/01/2001
  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138
used Add to Cart $1.62
You save: 96%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $22.53
You save: 44%
Marketplace Item
Description: From Freud to Babbitt, from Animal Farm to Sartre, from the Theory of Relativity and the Great Society to Counterculture and Kosovo, The Modern Mind is an extraordinary, provocative, and brilliantly reasoned examination of the ideas and individuals that have shaped the 20th-century intellectual tradition. Focusing on all the great and many lesser-known individuals, breakthroughs, and events of Western culture, Peter Watson explores the role of the United States in setting the century's agenda and emphasizes the effect science has played in intellectual history. Writing with authority and verve, Watson has produced a fluent, engaging, and intelligent look at the recent past -- an illuminating blueprint of modern thought and culture more than 10 years in the making. For readers of Jacques Barzun, Paul Johnson, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Paul Kennedy, The Modern Mind is the perfect historical companion.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
1,844 orders (94% success)
Location: Ogden, UT
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.62
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
6,850 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.93
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
5,624 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
334 orders (97% success)
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owner's name on endpage.
Price:
$4.82
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owner's name on endpage.
Seller: HPB Inc.
7,495 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,775 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
7,495 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.83
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,775 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$6.57
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Solr Books
1,090 orders (92% success)
Location: Skokie, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Price:
$6.73
Comments:
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Seller: WonderBook
73 orders (93% success)
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owners name on endpage.
Price:
$6.74
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owners name on endpage.
Seller: HPB-Blue
3,775 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$7.18
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
6,850 orders (97% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$7.18
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
10,206 orders (98% success)
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$8.14
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: HPB-Emerald
4,909 orders (96% success)
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.98
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Priceless Books
21 orders (90% success)
Location: Urbana, IL
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
Price:
$13.50
Comments:
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
Seller: Powell's Books
967 orders (94% success)
Location: Portland, OR
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$16.03
Comments:
Seller: Priceless Books
21 orders (90% success)
Location: Urbana, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Seller: The Bookworm Cali
4 orders (100% success)
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$21.10
Comments:
Seller: VILLAGE IDIOT'S BOOKS
1 order (100% success)
Location: Durham, NH
Condition: Like New
0060194138 FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS
[...]
Price:
$22.45
Comments:
0060194138 FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS
[...]
Seller: Satellite Books
8 orders (100% success)
Location: Burlington, VT
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
0060194138 First edition stated Hardcover. fine/fine DJ bottom edge marking For Additional Information or pictures, Please Inquire.
Price:
$22.53
Comments:
0060194138 First edition stated Hardcover. fine/fine DJ bottom edge marking For Additional Information or pictures, Please Inquire.
Seller: One Stop Shop Bookstore
2,015 orders (96% success)
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$25.81
Comments:
Seller: sequiturbooks
42 orders (88% success)
Location: Boonsboro, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
Price:
$52.50
Comments:
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
Seller: Milton Ave Books
1 order (100% success)
Location: Columbus, OH
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
pp. 847. Quarter-bound in cloth over paper covered boards. Appendices:
[...]
Price:
$56.25
Comments:
pp. 847. Quarter-bound in cloth over paper covered boards. Appendices:
[...]
Seller: Sequitur Books
36 orders (94% success)
Location: Boonsboro, MD
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
Price:
$59.06
Comments:
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
Seller: Lyric Vibes
4 orders (100% success)
Location: Geneva, IL
Condition: New
0060194138 New Condition *** Right Off the Shelf | Ships within 2 Business Days ~~~ Customer Service Is Our Top Priority! -Thank you for LOOKING: -)
Price:
$105.72
Comments:
0060194138 New Condition *** Right Off the Shelf | Ships within 2 Business Days ~~~ Customer Service Is Our Top Priority! -Thank you for LOOKING: -)
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).