Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • List Price: $40.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1
  • Publisher: Harpercollins
  • Publish date: 03/01/2001
  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138
used Add to Cart $3.93
You save: 90%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $52.50
Marketplace Item
Description: From Freud to Babbitt, from Animal Farm to Sartre, from the Theory of Relativity and the Great Society to Counterculture and Kosovo, The Modern Mind is an extraordinary, provocative, and brilliantly reasoned examination of the ideas and individuals that have shaped the 20th-century intellectual tradition. Focusing on all the great and many lesser-known individuals, breakthroughs, and events of Western culture, Peter Watson explores the role of the United States in setting the century's agenda and emphasizes the effect science has played in intellectual history. Writing with authority and verve, Watson has produced a fluent, engaging, and intelligent look at the recent past -- an illuminating blueprint of modern thought and culture more than 10 years in the making. For readers of Jacques Barzun, Paul Johnson, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Paul Kennedy, The Modern Mind is the perfect historical companion.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Half Price Books Inc
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.93
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Solr Books
Location: Skokie, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Price:
$4.48
Comments:
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$4.50
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
Price:
$4.93
Comments:
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owner's name on endpage.
Price:
$4.93
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owner's name on endpage.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
Price:
$5.39
Comments:
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
Price:
$6.87
Comments:
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
Price:
$6.96
Comments:
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owners name on endpage.
Price:
$6.96
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. Owners name on endpage.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$7.99
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.08
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Priceless Books
Location: Urbana, IL
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
Price:
$13.50
Comments:
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
Seller: Priceless Books
Location: Urbana, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Seller: The Bookworm Cali
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$21.10
Comments:
Seller: VILLAGE IDIOT'S BOOKS
Location: Durham, NH
Condition: Like New
0060194138 FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS
[...]
Price:
$22.47
Comments:
0060194138 FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS
[...]
Seller: Barker Books
Location: Spokane, WA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
First American printing, near fine hardcover shows light soiling to top page
[...]
Price:
$22.50
Comments:
First American printing, near fine hardcover shows light soiling to top page
[...]
Seller: sequiturbooks
Location: Boonsboro, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
Price:
$52.50
Comments:
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).