Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • List Price: $40.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1
  • Publisher: Harpercollins
  • Publish date: 03/01/2001
  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138
used Add to Cart $4.45
You save: 89%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $10.74
You save: 73%
Marketplace Item
Description: From Freud to Babbitt, from Animal Farm to Sartre, from the Theory of Relativity and the Great Society to Counterculture and Kosovo, The Modern Mind is an extraordinary, provocative, and brilliantly reasoned examination of the ideas and individuals that have shaped the 20th-century intellectual tradition. Focusing on all the great and many lesser-known individuals, breakthroughs, and events of Western culture, Peter Watson explores the role of the United States in setting the century's agenda and emphasizes the effect science has played in intellectual history. Writing with authority and verve, Watson has produced a fluent, engaging, and intelligent look at the recent past -- an illuminating blueprint of modern thought and culture more than 10 years in the making. For readers of Jacques Barzun, Paul Johnson, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Paul Kennedy, The Modern Mind is the perfect historical companion.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: TAP Books Charity
Location: Roanoke, VA
Condition: Acceptable
The item is fairly worn but still readable. Signs of wear include aesthetic
[...]
Price:
$4.45
Comments:
The item is fairly worn but still readable. Signs of wear include aesthetic
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$5.62
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. A copy that has been read but remains
[...]
Price:
$7.99
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. A copy that has been read but remains
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$8.98
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. A copy that has been read but remains
[...]
Price:
$9.17
Comments:
Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. A copy that has been read but remains
[...]
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$10.74
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$11.25
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: BTBooksellers
Location: Bradford, VT
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Has very little wear on the cover. Has clean, unmarked pages. Binding is tight and in excellent condition. Buy with confidence! Experienced Seller. Fast Shipping!
Price:
$11.85
Comments:
Has very little wear on the cover. Has clean, unmarked pages. Binding is tight and in excellent condition. Buy with confidence! Experienced Seller. Fast Shipping!
Seller: Bokonon Books
Location: North Chesterfield, VA
Condition: Like New
Shipping Icon
New at a glance. Book is in new condition with clean text and tight binding
[...]
Price:
$16.82
Comments:
New at a glance. Book is in new condition with clean text and tight binding
[...]
Seller: Priceless Books
Location: Urbana, IL
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Price:
$16.87
Comments:
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
Seller: VILLAGE IDIOT'S BOOKS
Location: Durham, NH
Condition: Like New
FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS WHOLE WITH GOOD
[...]
Price:
$22.47
Comments:
FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS WHOLE WITH GOOD
[...]
Seller: Powell's Books Chicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Condition: Very Good
2001. Hardcover. Cloth, d.j. Some shelf-wear. Else clean copy. Very Good. (Subject: Cultural Studies).
Price:
$24.75
Comments:
2001. Hardcover. Cloth, d.j. Some shelf-wear. Else clean copy. Very Good. (Subject: Cultural Studies).
Seller: West Coast Bookseller
Location: Moorpark, CA
Condition: Like New
Price:
$26.66
Comments:
Seller: Turn-The-Page Books
Location: Seattle, WA
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
8vo-8"-9" Tall. 1st printing. Crisp and unmarked, NF/NF. 847pp. Jacket in a protective mylar cover.
Price:
$28.12
Comments:
8vo-8"-9" Tall. 1st printing. Crisp and unmarked, NF/NF. 847pp. Jacket in a protective mylar cover.
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: Good
Price:
$42.93
Comments:
Seller: Milton Ave Books
Location: Columbus, OH
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
pp. 847. Quarter-bound in cloth over paper covered boards. Appendices:
[...]
Price:
$56.25
Comments:
pp. 847. Quarter-bound in cloth over paper covered boards. Appendices:
[...]
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: Very Good
Price:
$60.52
Comments:
Seller: CambridgeBookstore
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Condition: New
Shipping Icon
Brand New, Gift condition We Ship Every Day! Free Tracking Number Included! International Buyers Are Welcome! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Price:
$100.93
Comments:
Brand New, Gift condition We Ship Every Day! Free Tracking Number Included! International Buyers Are Welcome! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: New
Price:
$195.02
Comments:
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).