Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close
  • ISBN: 9780060194130
  • ISBN10: 0060194138

The Modern Mind an Intellectual History of the 20th Century

by Peter Watson

  • List Price: $40.00
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Edition: 1
  • Publisher: Harpercollins
  • Publish date: 03/01/2001
used Add to Cart $1.67
You save: 96%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $20.19
You save: 50%
Marketplace Item
Description: From Freud to Babbitt, from Animal Farm to Sartre, from the Theory of Relativity and the Great Society to Counterculture and Kosovo, The Modern Mind is an extraordinary, provocative, and brilliantly reasoned examination of the ideas and individuals that have shaped the 20th-century intellectual tradition. Focusing on all the great and many lesser-known individuals, breakthroughs, and events of Western culture, Peter Watson explores the role of the United States in setting the century's agenda and emphasizes the effect science has played in intellectual history. Writing with authority and verve, Watson has produced a fluent, engaging, and intelligent look at the recent past -- an illuminating blueprint of modern thought and culture more than 10 years in the making. For readers of Jacques Barzun, Paul Johnson, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Paul Kennedy, The Modern Mind is the perfect historical companion.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
$1.67
Hippo Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Acceptable
Noticeably used book. Text is legible but may be soiled and have binding
[...]
$1.67
Mini City Media
Location: Raleigh, NC
Very Good
Light wear. Light interior markings.
$2.23
Mini City Media
Location: Raleigh, NC
Good
Moderate wear. Heavy interior markings. No dust-jacket.
$2.23
Solr Books
Location: Skokie, IL
Good
Shipping Icon
Great reading/study copy. May have highlights and/or notes. Ships Fast! Satisfaction Guaranteed!
$3.36
Half Price Books Inc
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$3.93
HPB-Movies
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$4.50
WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Very Good
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
$5.39
HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$5.62
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
$6.23
Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Very Good
Very Good condition. Good dust jacket.
$6.87
WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Very Good
Very Good condition. Acceptable dust jacket.
$7.06
Dunaway Books
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Good
Shipping Icon
$7.93
HPB-Emerald
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.08
Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$8.46
HPB-Blue
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.98
HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$8.98
HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
$11.23
Priceless Books
Location: Urbana, IL
Very Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities rubbed. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & chipped; sticker remnants bottom spine Dj. Endnotes & index.
$13.50
Priceless Books
Location: Urbana, IL
Good
Shipping Icon
847pp. Extremities lightly rubbed; some pages have pencilling. Dj extremities lightly rubbed & scratched. Owner name ffep. Endnotes & index.
$16.87
Ergodebooks
Location: Richmond, TX Ask seller a question
New
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.
$20.19
M and N Media
Location: ACWORTH, GA
Acceptable
Shipping Icon
0060194138 Please allow 4-14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business!
$20.38
VILLAGE IDIOT'S BOOKS
Location: Durham, NH
Like New
0060194138 FIRST PRINTING WITH A FULL NUMBER PRINT LINE. EXCELLENT DJ IS
[...]
$22.47
Firecreek Books
Location: Germantown, TN
Good
$23.12
One Stop Shop Bookstore
Location: Memphis, TN
Good
Shipping Icon
$23.82
sequiturbooks
Location: Boonsboro, MD Ask seller a question
New
Hardcover and dust jacket. Fine binding and cover. Clean, unmarked pages.
[...]
$52.50
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).