Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America

by Donald Hall

  • ISBN: 9780195067613
  • ISBN10: 0195067614

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America

by Donald Hall

  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Oxford Univ Pr on Demand
  • Publish date: 12/01/1990
  • ISBN: 9780195067613
  • ISBN10: 0195067614
used Add to Cart $1.63
You save: 95%
Marketplace Item
new Add to Cart $38.29
FREE shipping on orders over $49!
ebook Buy $20.64
License: 180 days (until 11/12/2021)
Description: Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyone and enjoyed by children and adults alike. He presents over two hundred fifty poems written by over one hundred different American poets--including anonymous works,ballads, and recitation pieces--that range from the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century to the fabulous nonsense poems of the present. Drawing on literally thousands of sources--including Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and such wonderful children's periodicals as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion--Hall gives the modern reader a rich sampling of many poems never before anthologized. He includes everyone's favorites, from Clement Clarke Moore's "A Visit from St. Nicholas" (a.k.a. "The Night Before Christmas") to the classic lines of Longfellow and Whittier. Along with Sarah JosephaHale's famous poem, "Mary's Lamb," we find poetry by Emily Dickinson, Mary Mapes Dodge, Palmer Cox, Sarah Orne Jewett, Laura E. Richards, and Gelett Burgess. He also covers the twentieth-century with verse by T.S. Eliot, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Langston Hughes, Ogden Nash, Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel), and RandallJarrell, just to name a few. Hall concludes with the poetry of present-day writers such as Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard. A testament to a captivating tradition in American literature, this anthology will encourage many hours of nostalgic browsing and reading aloud to children.
Expand description
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Owls Books
Location: Toledo, OH
Condition: Good
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Price:
$1.63
Comments:
All pages and cover are intact. Possible slightly loose binding, minor
[...]
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$2.81
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Diamond
Location: Dallas, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$2.81
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained.
Price:
$7.30
Comments:
Good condition. Slightly dampstained.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. A copy that has been read but remains intact. May contain markings such as bookplates stamps limited notes and highlighting or a few light stains.
Price:
$7.99
Comments:
Good condition. A copy that has been read but remains intact. May contain markings such as bookplates stamps limited notes and highlighting or a few light stains.
Seller: Ergodebooks
Location: Houston,, TX Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Price:
$8.62
Comments:
Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy.Ships Fast. 24*7 Customer Service.
Seller: WonderBook
Location: Frederick, MD Ask seller a question
Condition: Good
Good condition. Slightly dampstained.
Price:
$8.99
Comments:
Good condition. Slightly dampstained.
Seller: One Stop Shop Bookstore
Location: Memphis, TN
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Price:
$24.11
Comments:
Seller: Awesomebooks_Newbooks
Location: Wilmington, DE
Condition: New
BRAND NEW BOOK! Shipped within 24-48 hours. Normal delivery time is 5-12
[...]
Price:
$35.38
Comments:
BRAND NEW BOOK! Shipped within 24-48 hours. Normal delivery time is 5-12
[...]
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).