Error title
Some error text about your books and stuff.
Close

Thunder on the Mountain: a Novel of 1936

by Poyer, David

  • ISBN: 9780812540048
  • ISBN10: 0812540042

Thunder on the Mountain: a Novel of 1936

by Poyer, David

  • List Price: $6.99
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Forge
  • Publish date: 08/01/2000
  • ISBN: 9780812540048
  • ISBN10: 0812540042
used Add to Cart $2.25
You save: 68%
Marketplace Item
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
new Add to Cart $16.48
Marketplace Item
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Description: Thunder on the Mountain, David Poyer revisits the terrible winter of 1936 when a strike to organize the workers in the Thunder Oil Company is called after a refinery disaster exposes the company's contempt for workers' safety. W. T. "Kid Nitro" Halvorsen, a young boxer and well shooter, becomes a leader of the strike against Daniel Thunner's beloved family company. The strike draws national attention, which increases with the arrival of ruthless strikebreaker Pearl Deatherage and of determined CIO organizer Doris Gurley Golden. As the unrest spreads in scale and fury, Halvorsen and Thunner must put their ideas of honor and morality to the test. In a high-stakes game of one-upsmanship and violence, who will prove himself king of the mountain?

Packed with insight, vivid characters, and a burning concern for justice, Thunder on the Mountain is a tough, penetrating, violent novel in the tradition of Jack London, John Steinbeck, E. L. Doctorow, and Mary Lee Settle -- and, now, David Poyer.

Expand description
Product notice Returnable at the third party seller's discretion and may come without consumable supplements like access codes, CD's, or workbooks.
Seller Condition Comments Price  
Seller: Once Upon A Time Books
Location: Tontitown, AR
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear.
Price:
$2.25
Comments:
This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear.
Seller: HPB-Ruby
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.13
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB-Emerald
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.13
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: HPB Inc.
Location: Carrollton, TX
Condition: Good
Shipping Icon
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Price:
$3.36
Comments:
Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include
[...]
Seller: ABC Books
Location: Springfield, MO
Condition: Acceptable
Shipping Icon
Standard used acceptable condition. Wear and creasing to cover and spine. Tracking available on most domestic orders.
Price:
$5.57
Comments:
Standard used acceptable condition. Wear and creasing to cover and spine. Tracking available on most domestic orders.
Seller: The Book House - Saint Louis
Location: St. Louis, MO
Condition: Very Good
Shipping Icon
Very good paperback.
Price:
$6.75
Comments:
Very good paperback.
Seller: Wonder Book - Member ABAA/ILAB
Location: Frederick, MD
Condition: Very Good
Very Good condition. Owner's initials inside.
Price:
$7.30
Comments:
Very Good condition. Owner's initials inside.
Seller: belskiy
Location: alexandria, VA
Condition: New
Price:
$16.48
Comments:
Seller: Bonita
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Condition: Good
Price:
$44.35
Comments:
Seller: GridFreed
Location: North Las Vegas, NV
Condition: New
As new.
Price:
$66.16
Comments:
As new.
please wait
Please Wait

Notify Me When Available

Enter your email address below,
and we'll contact you when your school adds course materials for
.
Enter your email address below, and we'll contact you when is back in stock (ISBN: ).